Illustrated Journal / A-Drawing-A-Day

Hi friends! I started a new project yesterday I want to share! I’ve been thinking a lot lately about my job and about what path I hope for my career to take eventually. I really like what I do, but one thing I continuously come back to is the struggle I have with the fact that my day job has no creative aspect. I work in a purely administrative position that involves pretty much zero creativity. I do make up for that by using nearly all my time outside of work creating. However, there are times when it does get to me that my work day is void of artistic expression. I’m an artist at heart, there’s always going to be a part of me that wants to be creating. I realize that these feelings are something I need to consider as I continue my career path. Especially since I notice as time goes on they become stronger and stronger and my longing to work in a more creative atmosphere/role continues to intensify. In the mean time, I think it’s important for my own well being to find a way to nurture my need for some creativity during my work days.

So! I’ve come up with an idea of something I’m hoping I can incorporate into my work day that will give me a small creative outlet to tide me over throughout the day.  Yesterday when I got to work I was looking at some artwork on my phone since I was there early.  Of course after that I had an unavoidable urge to draw something as the morning went on. So when i had a few minutes for a break, I grabbed a notebook and sketched a quick little drawing. Here it is:

Image

a simple sketch of something funny that a friend had just told me about. I thought the main idea would make a cute drawing, so that’s what I sketched – a girl wearing white socks with red lips on them! Doing quick, cute, simple little drawings like this makes me so happy, it’s like it gives me a boost of energy when I do it.  I thought about how doing one little drawing affected me throughout the rest of the day, and couldn’t help but come up with other cute ideas as I saw things and as conversations happened.  So I decided I want to start a daily illustration journal. Every day I will do one simple sketch, and that will be my journal entry for the day. No rules, it can be anything – something going on that day, something I’m thinking about, a conversation I had, something that just makes me happy, or an idea for embroidering. I have a feeling that a lot of the drawings will turn into ideas for embroidering since that is my main medium and focus.  Not only will this be a creative outlet for me, but my hope is that the practice will also make me a better illustrator. I draw all of my designs before I embroider them, so that is a big part of what I do and I am always longing to improve my drawing skills. I plan for them to be very simple little sketches, sometimes these are the best kind to learn from!

This project is about self care for me and about feeling like I’m working at growing as an artist every day. I’m really excited about doing this. Also, about having a journal that I’ll be able to look back on one day and see what my thoughts and ideas were and what was going on in life!

I will try to share my favorite sketches here on the blog as often as possible! Thanks so much for reading XO

3 thoughts on “Illustrated Journal / A-Drawing-A-Day

Leave a Reply

